Influencing the Weather (experiment)

Greetings Skeptiko community,

I'm a graduate student at UC Davis studying atmospheric science. On the side of my official work, i'm doing some research on influencing the weather using mental intentions, which has not been studied scientifically (except for one very small study by Roger Nelson in 1997) despite the practice being prominent in many cultures throughout human history.

I set up an online experiment that is aimed to look for this effect while also providing relief to the west coast (California) drought. It is available here: www.deltaaware.org/weather. You can complete an experimental session in as short as 5 minutes (though you would need to watch a 3 minute video and fill out a short questionnaire if it is your first time contributing a session). The experiment can be done from anywhere with an internet connection.

I'm happy to discuss the methodology of this experiment further if anyone would like. I have not done any data analysis yet so it would be too early to discuss preliminary results.

Also, if anyone happens to know of a case of weather influence where a quick response occurred (for example, someone did a rain dance and a heavy shower occurred 30 minutes later), and you are able to tie a location and approximate date to it, I would be very grateful to hear about it :)

I look forward to getting to know you all and seeing all this community has to offer!

Dani

I do not like to try to influence the weather. Because of the butterfly effect, you never know what the consequences would be. I might ask a higher power to do something within the constraints of "the highest good". Also, there might be a drought, or a flood, for a reason and it might not be a good idea to try to interfere..