Consciousness an emergent of the brain?

Johnny

New
Hello everybody

Although being on this site a few weeks I am relatively new to all this consciousness science thingy, I have listen to the podcasts and read a number of transcripts,
But I am still not fully equipped to understand the depth of what is going on,

I have two questions, and a request

1; Is there proof, not evidence but proof that consciousness is an emergent of the brain?

2; what is meant by a peer reviewed article that states that consciousness is an emergent of the brain.

The request is to be linked to recent peer reviewed studies that suggest consciousness is not an emergent of the brain.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Hello everybody

Although being on this site a few weeks I am relatively new to all this consciousness science thingy, I have listen to the podcasts and read a number of transcripts,
But I am still not fully equipped to understand the depth of what is going on,

I have two questions, and a request

1; Is there proof, not evidence but proof that consciousness is an emergent of the brain?
No there is no proof.
2; what is meant by a peer reviewed article that states that consciousness is an emergent of the brain.
That would be an article in a scientific journal. Many journals have other scientists review articles before accepting them for publication. Supposedly it insures only high quality research is published.
The request is to be linked to recent peer reviewed studies that suggest consciousness is not an emergent of the brain.

Thanks.

An emergent property is a property that cannot necessarily be predicted from the process from which it emerges. For example life is an emergent property of matter. Just by examining atoms you would probably not say that a human body is a property of matter, but biological organisms "emerge" from the properties of matter.

With biological life you can explain how living things work with biochemistry and it is not controversial.